Play It Cool, Guys OP theme song music video, visual revealed

The Play It Cool, Guys OP theme song music video was directed by animator Tsuda. Pic credit: YouTube

Play It Cool, Guys OP theme song “Seishun Kippu” (“Youth Ticket”) by Mafumafu has gotten an animated music video, which was directed by illustrator/animator Tsuda. Tsuda also served as the character designer and animation director.

Anyo provided the 2D backgrounds for the video, while Eita contributed 3DCG, editing, and a logo design.

Take a look:

Studio Matomo — with which Tsuda, Anyo, and Eita are affiliated — has released a visual for the video (see below).

Play It Cool, Guys (クールドジ男子, Cool Doji Danshi) premiered on TV Tokyo and AT-X on October 10 and on BS11 on October 13, 2022.

The Cool Doji Danshi anime adaptation was first announced in April 2022, when the main cast and staff were revealed. On the occasion, it was also announced that the anime would feature two consecutive cours.

The anime series features 15-minute episodes.

The ED theme song “Flash!” is performed by the voice actors voicing the four main characters Hayate, Shun, Mima, and Shiki, namely Chiaki Kobayashi, Kouki Uchiyama, Yuuichirou Umehara, and Shouya Chiba, respectively.

The Play it Cool, Guys anime cast and staff

Chiaki Kon (Junjou Romantica) is directing the anime at Studio Pierrot.

Additional main staff members include:

  • Makoto Uezu — scriptwriter
  • Airi Taguchi — character designer, chief animation director
  • Masato Nakayama — music composer

The main Cool Doji Danshi cast includes:

  • Chiaki Kobayashi (Askeladd in Vinland Saga) — Hayate Ichikura
  • Kouki Uchiyama (Meruem in Hunter x Hunter) — Shun Futami
  • Yuuichirou Umehara (Goblin Slayer as Goblin Slayer) — Mima Takayuki
  • Shouya Chiba (Ayanokoji in Classroom of the Elite) — Shiki Souma

Additional Play It Cool, Guys cast members include:

  • Satomi Satou — Asami Futami
  • Kazuyuki Okitsu — Sota Shiki
  • Haruka Shiraishi — Momo Momozaki
  • You Taichi — Akane Benino
  • Taku Yashiro — Kurosaki
  • Kengo Takanashi — Akai
  • Seiichiro Yamashita — Kida
  • Kouhei Amasaki — Aoyama
A visual for the Play It Cool, Guys OP theme song music was revealed by Studio matomo on November 8, 2022. Pic credit: Matomo Studio

About the Play it Cool, Guys manga series

The Play it Cool, Guys TV anime is based on the eponymous web manga by Kokone Nata.

Before becoming a full-blown manga series, Cool Doji Danshi was a series of illustrations, which mangaka Nata was publishing via her Twitter account.

The Play it Cool, Guys manga series has been serialized on the Pixiv website since February 2019. To date, Square Enix has released four tankōbon volumes under its Gangan Comics Pixiv imprint.

Yen Press has licensed the series for an English-language release in North America. The title is also available digitally.

Play it Cool, Guys inspired a novel adaptation by Shino Kaida in 2020. Titled “Cool Doji Danshi: Connect It Cool, Guys,” the novel was published by Square Enix.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x