One Piece Seraphim: What exactly are the Pacifista units?

Pacifista One Piece
Pacifista based on Bartholomew Kuma in One Piece. Pic credit: Toei Animation

The Seraphim are new and improved Pacifista units developed by the SSG (Special Science Group) to replace the Seven Warlords of the Sea.

The first time we got a hint that we might see some sort of an advanced Pacifista was when after the time skip, Sentomaru mentioned the Pacificista units as “Prototypes.” This meant that there would be improved versions later. But nobody imagined the Seraphim.

The name Seraphim comes from Jewish, Christian, and Islamic literature, where Seraphim are the angels that guard God’s throne. So it seems to be the perfect name for weapons that protect the Celestial Dragons, who consider themselves to be the gods of the One Piece world.

We know that the Seraphim are incredibly strong because Admiral Fujitora considers them to be an effective replacement for the Shishibukai.

The Seraphim made their debut on Amazon Lily, where the Marines attempted to capture Boa Hancock. The Marines deployed two Seraphim units there, and everyone was shocked to see just how powerful these new Pacifistas were. Even after all the fighting, the Gorgon sisters were shocked that the Seraphim didn’t have even a single scratch on them.

What’s more, the two Seraphim actually resembled Boa Hancock and Dracule Mihawk. So the World Government’s replacement for The Seven Warlords is the Pacifista version of the warlords.

Later on Egghead Island, we get introduced to S-Shark, the Jimbei Seraphim. So we’re most likely going to have all of The Seven Warlords as the Seraphim. But I don’t think we’re getting a Law or a Blackbeard Seraphim. And even though a Buggy Seraphim would be hilarious, I think only the original Shishibukai will have a Seraphim version.

We know that these Seraphim have their own names. S-Shark, S-Hawk, S-Snake, and S-Bear are the ones we know. These are all animal-based names, and we know only the original Shihibukai were animal-themed.

The Seven Warlords’ animal themes

For those who don’t know:

  • Dracule Mihawk: Hawk
  • Crocodile: Crocodile
  • Donquixote Doflamingo: Flamingo
  • Boa Hancock: Snake
  • Gecko Moria: Gecko
  • Bartholomew Kuma: Bear
  • Jimbei: Whale Shark

Seraphim Devil Fruits

Seraphim are made using the Lineage Factor of The Seven Warlords, and they possess Lunarian appearance and traits.

We know that eating a Devil Fruit affects one’s Lineage Factor. So all the Seraphim will have the powers of the Devil Fruit that the original body had. This was confirmed in Chapter 1068, where S-Bear used Kuma’s Paw Paw Devil Fruit.

And we also see S-Shark using a Devil Fruit power that resembles Senor Pink’s Sui Sui no Mi. So the Seraphim without Devil Fruit powers can be given another Devil Fruit. This means S-Hawk will also most likely have a Devil Fruit.

What do you guys think S-Hawk’s Devil Fruit would be?

You can check out the official One Piece manga on the Viz website.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x